Ziibi~ June 14

A Café Tradition~

My friend Dan and I have a tradition
We love to eat breakfast at Ma and Pa type cafes
When we lived in the same town
We tried to go once a week.
Now we go when time permits
It was one of those meals I found a love for bacon.
A bit odd for someone raised a vegetarian
All I can say is I was pregnant.
Our food came with our regular orders
Eggs, toast, and hash browns
The smell of bacon permeated from his plate
It was all I could think about
All that I wanted in the few minutes that followed
He looked at me then down at his plate
Back up at me then down
Sliding the plate towards me
A puzzled look on his face
“take whatever you need.”
I got the bacon! All of the bacon!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. slpmartin
    Jun 14, 2010 @ 18:15:53

    As I read the end of the poem…I had to laugh out loud…what a scene you created with you words…I can still see it. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

