Theatrical Limbs

One night I learned the secret!
Why my body uncontrollably
stretches and twists,
outward one minute
springing back the next
like a tight rubber band.
My foot doesn’t lift.
My knee forgets to bend.
My muscles cringe
as my hand curls
to form a claw.

It was a night I was alert
Open to the unknown
While my body hurt.

I felt the presence of what I could not see.
Then..the shadows revealed strings
that led to me.

I watched the shadows for their source.
They all traced
to one that ran their course.

The shadow was a massive blur.
That resembled..
my words were one big slur.

I nearly fainted from the sight.
Am I dreaming?
Is this right?

A Giant held the strings connected to me
as if I was a puppet
for his glee.

At that moment he became aware
of me peering
opening his mouth with a scare.

I cowered as he spoke
afraid
that he ate folk!

His voice shook the room
by surprise
like a flower in bloom.

“You are my marionette for the theater,”
the Giant exclaimed.
“I picked you amongst the rest
because you were the best.”

The doctors call it Spasticisity!

River © 2010

Inspired by Shel Silverstein

for Thursday Poets Rally week 25

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jingle
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 15:08:19

    great!
    😉

    Reply

  2. evangelinehannah
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 15:09:49

    This is awesome! A sort of twist at the end. Great work! 🙂

    Reply

    • ziibi1
      Jul 22, 2010 @ 16:17:10

      Lol! Thank you! I would love to read it to my Neurologist and see what he thinks of my take on spastic limbs. 🙂

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 25 (July 22-July 28) | Jingle
  4. Doni Cifra
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 17:32:10

    hmm… I get spastic sometimes so I can relate. I could imagine this being danced too

    Reply

    • ziibi1
      Jul 22, 2010 @ 18:32:42

      The more I think about this poem a dance the more I love your idea. It would grow into a whole story of intensity and beauty. I am a dancer at heart. I can’t dance the way I used too but its a personal goal of mine. I have Multiple Sclerosis and my right leg needs a bit of healing. Thank you for planting a seed in my mind. 🙂

      Reply

  5. joanny
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 18:36:46

    There are layers upon layers in this poem, depths I am sure you haven’t even thought of yourself, but came through in your writing, excellent.

    Joanny

    Reply

    • ziibi1
      Jul 22, 2010 @ 19:49:44

      Thank you! I’m sure you are right. I think we all do that unconsciously in our poems to some extent. 🙂

      Reply

  6. blueplatypus
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 18:45:29

    This is a beautiful description of how MS can affect movement. I think you should read it to your doc- this description is much more enjoyable and easier to relate to than those found in medical books…

    Reply

    • ziibi1
      Jul 22, 2010 @ 19:53:17

      Thank you, I will read it to him. 🙂 I am editing and looking for a publisher for a poetry book about my life with MS. We will see. 🙂

      Reply

  7. akneis
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 19:36:07

    I was very moved by your poem. Thank you for it.

    Reply

  8. Thomas
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 20:09:08

    You have a great idea with this piece, but the beginning and middle stanzas drag out the poem a tad too long.

    Reply

    • ziibi1
      Jul 22, 2010 @ 20:24:31

      Thanks for a critique. 🙂 I agree with you about the first stanza. I will have to tweak it but the mentions of spastic limbs has to remain in there somehow or another. 🙂 I don’t agree with you on the middle. That moves like a Silverstein poem. 🙂

      Reply

  9. RiikaInfinityy
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 20:29:03

    This is a very touching poem, thank for sharing and happy rally=D

    Reply

  10. Keshav Ram Narla
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 08:51:39

    Awesome! wow for a while, I was reading with an open mouth. A beautiful story through the words of a poet.

    Aren’t we all on strings, trying to be picked as the best. Great work!

    Reply

  11. slpmartin
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 16:41:55

    Wow…I’m just sitting here trying to catch my breath….that pretty much says what I feel about this poem.

    Reply

    • ziibi1
      Jul 23, 2010 @ 17:01:45

      🙂 Thank you that means a whole lot coming from you. It’s a part of the collection of poems I have for a poetry book about MS and me.

      Reply

  12. slickolas
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 22:45:58

    Wow this poem was epic. Great piece of work.

    Reply

  13. Trackback: The Celebrate Poet of July Award Nominations Announcement | Promising Poets' Parking Lot
  14. Trackback: Agreement 4 Rally Week 25 | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

Leave a Reply

