Paralysis Times Three

21
The first time I woke all numb
Equally from my knees down
Traveling up and stopping
At the bottom of my ribs

I found my own therapy
In no time at all
I left the Hospital
All weak and tingly legged

We road tripped out west and on the way
I built up my strength with Hacky Sacs
Soaked my legs in Hot Springs
Then tingly I ran the Oregon coast
~
26
The second time my feet hurt real bad
My left big toe was numb
Later that day it moved
Equally from my knees down

It rose up my body to stop at the bottom of my ribs
Then it turned and jumped to my hands
I was 3 months pregnant
They said it was in my head

I perfected my own therapy
Walking once more
I left the Hospital knowing
It would be awhile till the tingly left again
~
31
The third and final time at last I knew why
I was numb and tingly, unable to stand
I faced the battle more angry then afraid
A relapse from MS different then the rest

I felt tremendous pain too mind boggling extreme
At times it could have flipped me out
But I was stronger no doubt
With Morphine on my side

I pulled out my therapy like a pro ready to walk
But I had a limp and a hand that did not feel
I had changed, damage had been done
That’s when I made up mind this was the final one.

Now I am 36!

One Shot Wednesday by One Stop Poetry! If you would like to read poems by great poets or you would like to join the fun click here.

This poem is for a poetry book I’m putting together about coping with living with Multiple Sclerosis. These three paralysis were relapses from MS. Each time my Immune System attacked Mylen Sheath in my spine. In my case it was mostly in my neck.

I mention the ages and use them to divide time up because there is a pattern to them. A freaky pattern of years that came to be a couple of weeks ago. This time around I will break the pattern that has existed since I was 21. My birthday is 11/30.

I would love your feed back if I should add this poem or the one posted before called Three Strikes I Still Stand or both in the poetry book. Thank you!

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. brian
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 17:11:06

    nice stap through the times of your life…happy birthday and glad to see the final one…may you have many more wonderful years and happy one shot!

    Reply

  2. KB
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 17:43:02

    The message in the poem is very powerful. I think you should include it in the book.

    Have a great day.

    My poem is here.

    Reply

  3. Gay Cannon
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 18:48:42

    Wow. Bravo on a brave poem well told. One of my best friends has MS and has had it under control now for twenty years. It takes being careful and having good care apparently. I wish you the very best. Thank you for this. Excellent.

    Reply

  4. Talon
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 21:14:53

    Your beautiful spirit shines in every word of this poem. Happiest happiest of birthdays, my friend! Here’s to 36 more twice over!

    Reply

  5. River
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 21:26:37

    Thank you for the birthday wishes but my birthday is at the end of November. I mention the ages and use them to divide time up because there is a pattern to them. A freaky pattern of years that came to be a couple of weeks ago. This time around I will break the pattern that has existed since I was 21.

    Reply

  6. Desert Rose
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 21:46:45

    Happy Birthday my friend..i m not so much into birthday celebrations ..but your poem brought a smile to my face..lovely one shot πŸ™‚

    Reply

  7. slpmartin
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 22:05:06

    I am always amazed by the strength you bring to life and the wonderful gifts you offer with your words and poetry.

    Reply

  8. buttercup600
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 23:43:53

    Love you girlfriend…and sending my love xx

    Reply

  9. pete marshall
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 09:26:00

    that left me dwelling…i wish you well and good luck with the book..thanks for sharing and i hope it brings hope to others too..cheers pete

    Reply

  10. Eric Alder
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 10:30:23

    MS is a bitch! My neighbor has been dealing with hers for years. Some days it keeps her in bed. I wish you the best in coping with it.

    Reply

  11. moondustwriter
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 10:59:01

    As a nurse I see that some of the best therapy is knowing how others face this pain and suffereing. Knowing that others go through it even write about it is helpful. I am 100% behind you!!!

    Keep sharing these with us – we need to appreciate what others are going thru

    thanks for sharing with One Shot

    Moon hugs

    Reply

  12. River
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 13:49:53

    Thank You Everyone! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  13. Kavita
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 17:05:41

    Oh you can definitely put this up in your poetry book! Because this poem is about pain, and coping with it! It is hopeful, inspiring and speaks volumes of your own determination!

    You are a strong woman, River!! Bravo!!
    Cheers to breaking the pattern!!

    Reply

    • River
      Sep 02, 2010 @ 04:02:35

      Thank you Kavita! You gave me the words of encouragement I needed to hear about the book. You lifted my spirits too. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  14. Teresa
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 22:16:24

    What a wonderful poem about the struggles. It is very brave to share this struggle. You have my best wishes for much good health in your 36th year!

    Teresa
    http://razzamadazzle.wordpress.com

    Reply

    • River
      Sep 02, 2010 @ 04:04:53

      Thank you! πŸ™‚ Theres only a few months left of my 36’s. I totally will make the best out of them. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  15. Glynn
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 05:55:57

    I have two good friends who have MS. And they talk about patterns as well. They also have the same courage I see seeping through this poem.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

