Is it Easier…

Is it Easier….
One long cold winter,
I learned about loneliness
How to be with loneliness.
A Buddhist Nun’s wise words
taught me to sit and be with
loneliness and I will learn.

I’ll tell ya did I learn
about myself,
my baby,
relationships,
society,
Earth,
the World.

It was one long winter.
Me, my baby, and my old big dog.
My perspective was forever changed.
Of course, I only remember about half
the knowledge or the exact words.
It is inside me, deeply rooted and
takes over when needed like an auto-pilot,
slowly steering me along.

Is it depressing to be in a lonely state?  or
Is it a part of living and growing as a person?

Western philosophy, my society, teaches
loneliness is a negative state to be.
You need to avoid or quickly replace
It is not good to be lonely.

Eastern philosophy teaches loneliness
is a state of being.
An opportune time to reflect inward.
Stay and face the feeling,
take it for what it is

There are many different reasons
someone might feel lonely: a child at recess,
lost teenager, someone missing someone, a
woman eating alone, an old man sitting on a
bench, a woman that’s been married five years.

Is it easier to be lonely single or attached?

What do you think?

* Buddhist Nun- Pema Chodron

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. slpmartin
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 10:12:43

    I suspect how you face loneliness is based upon how you grew up…I’m rather pleased not to have crowds around and to have the time to hear my own voice…rather like the way your poem addresses this issue.

    Reply

  2. Timoteo
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 12:25:57

    I so like this one, as I too lean toward the east in matters of the spirit.
    And I think it’s easier to be lonely single than lonely with someone…if single, the possibilities are endless–but to be lonely in a relationship is truly sad, with lots of heartache looming on the horizon. (Unless the question implies being lonely attached and waiting for that someone to come home…different scenario entirely.)

    Reply

  3. River
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 12:26:20

    I grew up an only child with a single parent for a majority of it. There were interesting families and people that played their part. I do think our environment plays a huge part and what we choice to surround ourselves and learn in our lives.

    I do think it would be easier to be single and lonely. I too think to be attached and lonely is sad.

    Reply

  4. Jingle
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 13:55:52

    glad to read your childhood experiences…

    Reply

  5. Punam
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 14:26:31

    Attached.. but fulfilled attached.. not like a lady married 5 years, ignored and left to be felt alone.. No.
    Always nice to have someone care for you and love you. 🙂 Loneliness is scary.
    ~Punam

    Reply

  6. buttercup600
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 22:13:06

    Sometimes I can be among a crowd of people and feel as if I’m looking from the outside in. There are times I do feel very lonely, I also grew up as an only child also and need to be by myself at times but feel the loneliness at times more than I should. I am much better now though…and time heals all wounds. Sending you love my friend xxx

    Reply

  7. windybound
    Oct 08, 2010 @ 14:50:09

    It is just as hard to be as it is easy.

    Namaste.

    Reply

  8. trisha
    Oct 16, 2010 @ 07:06:05

    Awesome poem. solitude is the time for self introspection.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

