What random object has been left beside the door?


I slowly navigate down our flights of stairs
pondering the mystery that lies at the bottom.
The mystery of objects left….
Yesterday a bag filled of clothes
Last week a frying pan, a playpen
Today, will it be a pile of books
or a set of towels?
What random object has been left beside the door?
Where did it come from?
Where is it to go?
I wonder who leaves these objects and why?
Truly, I don’t really want to know.
I want the mystery, the secret
to continue intriguing me.
These random objects left beside the door
each have a story, a lost history
a tale I am free to imagine just
how I want it to be.
The objects we have left behind
a pair of glasses, a pink sweater
significant or trivial
forgotten or missed
they are pieces to our story
pieces of life we have left behind.
I almost forgot…
What random object has been left beside the door?
Today, a stack of old dishes.
River 9/10

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. brian
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 05:10:50

    interesting…so someone really leaves these objects…would be interesting to see if there was a pattern over time…nice one shot.

    Reply

    • River
      Sep 22, 2010 @ 07:34:02

      Someone really does leave things. I have never noticed a pattern. I will pay closer attention for you, Brian. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Desert rose
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 05:39:26

    i liked this, well written and interesting topic..Great one shot 🙂

    Reply

  3. RiikaInfinityy 마왕
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 08:20:20

    Wow sounds fun, can make good use of it :P~

    Reply

  4. Jingle
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 08:48:59

    love it.
    beautiful delivery.

    Reply

  5. dustus
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 09:03:42

    Fascinating. Wonder what will be there next time? lol cheers

    Reply

  6. umapoems
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 09:55:48

    Lol…interesting!What did I put either…I did put ONLY my comment here 🙂

    Reply

  7. slpmartin
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 10:00:52

    What an interesting thing for someone to do…or a rather clever way to clean out your garage…..ah lets see who’s near by? 🙂

    Reply

  8. Sherry Blue Sky
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 10:19:12

    Oh yes, those Things that are always left on the stairs, that no one ever carries up! I remember those. When I got old, I moved into a place without stairs for that very reason, hee hee! Good poem. And YOU – you are the hundredth member at Poets United! Welcome! Maybe we could all write a poem about you! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Sherry Blue Sky
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 10:20:01

    p.s. I love the name River!

    Reply

  10. Leo (Leonnyes)
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 10:35:52

    oh yes, I think even random objects left behind can tell a story I feel, and to each, their own imagination 🙂 a lovely write up River.

    My One Shot

    Reply

  11. River
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 10:37:38

    I know I’m not sure if its coming or going or what. Either way, I am having fun making stories about the stuff inspired by Tom Robbins.
    Yeah Sherry, i thought that was pretty cool. We have thank my mama for the name. 🙂 I followed suit and named my daughter Willow.

    Reply

  12. Claudia
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 12:12:31

    how mysterious – who should do something like this?
    love how you build the bridge to the lost objects of our life..

    Reply

  13. Timoteo
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 13:28:11

    Time to set up a hidden camera to reveal the culprit–what if it’s Santa?

    I’ve recently been added to your group at Poets United. Enjoy your work and look forward to seeing more!

    Reply

  14. hollyheir
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 15:12:11

    All my children have two story houses and the wives leave things on the foot of the stairs for the children/mate to carry up and put away…laundry, toys, books, etc. I thought that was the gist of your inspiration as I read but I can see it’s just mysterious leftbehinds that greet you. Cool topic and well handled. Thanks, Gay (@beachanny).. the hollyheir..just a place for my Texas stuff.

    Reply

  15. tuberider
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 17:12:25

    Very cool poem! It takes a poet to notice the mundane things in life.

    Reply

  16. buttercup600
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 18:00:56

    So interesting!!…Going to take note of this now!! Good write my dear friend xxx Sending you love xx

    Reply

  17. ninotaziz
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 19:06:30

    Dear River,
    I am saying Hello! Just saw you inclusion to Poets United at the lucky 100 mark!

    Love the poem above. I can see your surroundings ‘tickle’ you.

    Looking forward to seeing more of your work.

    Reply

  18. River
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 19:11:20

    thank you ninotaziz and tuberider. You too Amanda xxoo

    Reply

  19. Talon
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 21:16:12

    I would have been here sooner, but had computer issues today…

    I loved this – you’re making me look at doorways in a whole new way. We do leave bits of ourselves behind, don’t we? Really neat poem!

    Reply

  20. Shashi
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 06:39:06

    What a nice idea for a poem and the way you have described the thought and the ideas behind … very well said..

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Connect with me on Twitter at @VerseEveryDay to read one verse everyday on life, love and longing…

    Reply

  21. pete marshall
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 16:18:49

    well that would be me done for entertainment…i would be staying up all night watching…lol..a mysterious piece,,thanks for sharing….pete

    Reply

  22. Trisha
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 10:21:59

    you have a poet’s soul. wow! creating a poem out of nothing.

    Reply

  23. Trackback: The Bests Bussines Online!

Leave a Reply

